HTC EVO 4G not Sending/Receiving MMS Messages :(

Problem:

HTC Sense default messaging unable to send or receive MMS messages :(  Every time I try to send an MMS, I eventually receive the error message: “generic network failure”.

My Setup:

Phone:  Sprint HTC EVO 4G

OS:  Fresh Evo 4.2 (4.2.0.0) by flipz

Solution:

As usual, I cannot take credit for my ingenious solutions ;)  You can find the source of my plagiarized solution here.

Note:  You DO NOT need the be rooted for this solution.  However, if you’re not rooted, you should be ;P

  1. Download “APN Backup & Restore” from the Market
  2. Use the App, and first run Backup APNs
    • APN BackRestore
  3. Name the file: APN-Broken.xml
  4. Connect your phone to your computer as “disk drive”, using notepad open APN-Broken.xml, and correct the code to match:
    • <?xml version=’1.0′ encoding=’UTF-8′ standalone=’yes’ ?>
      <apns count=”1″>
      <apn name=”Production” numeric=”00000″ mcc=”000″ mnc=”00″ apn=”1” user=”null” server=”null” password=”null” proxy=”null” port=”null” mmsproxy=”null” mmsport=”null” mmsprotocol=”2.0″ mmsc=”http://mms.sprintpcs.com” type=”mms” />
      </apns>
  5. Save your changes as APN-Fixed.xml
  6. Disconnect your phone from your PC, and run APN Backup & Restore again
  7. Now run Restore APNs
    • APN BackRestore02
  8. Choose APN-Fixed.xml to apply it
  9. Perform a Reboot on your phone, and you’re all set.

Leave you comments or questions below :)

End of Line.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by raine on September 24, 2011 - 16:03

    YOUR GREAT .. i set on the phone with sprint for 45 mins , they had me do a million things STILL didnt get it to work .. found your post and now my pictures are sending .. thank you very much for this post

  2. #2 by Aang on September 26, 2011 - 01:00

    Glad I could help :)

  3. #3 by bcizle on February 8, 2012 - 18:48

    Did this and still not working. Anything you think may help?

    • #4 by Aang on February 8, 2012 - 21:03

      Make sure the APN-Fixed.xml matches what I have above. Also, do you have the lastest update from Sprint on your EVO? Do you know how to install custom ROMs on your phone? If so, this is by far the best ROM for the EVO 4G : http://geekfor.me/evo/23/fresh-evo-433/

  4. #5 by king tuby on March 18, 2012 - 19:22

    how do i find the setting on my sprint evo 4G from the phone to check the settings?

    • #6 by Aang on March 19, 2012 - 09:13

      Can you be more specific? If need the phone settings it’s, Menu –> Settings.

  5. #7 by Negra on July 12, 2012 - 02:54

    hiiiiiii..

    will this settings work with a flashed evo 4g to metro?

    • #8 by Aang on July 23, 2012 - 19:47

      I have only done this with Fresh ROM flashed on my EVO.

  6. #9 by Emilio Saldana on August 27, 2012 - 12:09

    what do you mean use notepad ???

  7. #11 by emilio on August 29, 2012 - 20:14

    it said restore fail ?

  8. #12 by sean1986L on September 9, 2012 - 07:27

    hey i have the same problem with my evo, but i have my evo flashed to boost mobile. now is there anything different that i would need to do in order for mine to get fixed or no. any advice will help thanks.,

    • #13 by Aang on September 10, 2012 - 00:46

      I have only tested my instructions on Sprint’s HTC EVO 4G not Boost’s. The ROM I tested on was a Sprint-based ROM. Sorry I cannot be of any help on that :(

  9. #14 by Pilgrim jewellery Uk on June 27, 2013 - 08:21

    Helpful information. Fortunate me I discovered your web site
    by accident, and I’m stunned why this accident did not happened in advance! I bookmarked it.

  1. FIXED Sprint mms problem/APN settings - Android Forums
  2. [Revised] Rooting Gingerbread 2.3.5 Dummies Guide - Page 31 - Android Forums

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

